BOE Welcomes New Members

At its reorganization meeting on Jan. 5, 2021, the Westfield Board of Education welcomed new members Sahar Aziz, Leila Morrelli, and Sonal Patel, who were sworn in by Board Attorney Richard Kaplow before the virtual meeting.

“The annual election was held on November 3, 2020, with official results certified by the Union County Board of Elections on November 20,” said Business Administrator and Board Secretary Dana Sullivan as she welcomed the three new members.  “With eleven candidates vying for a seat on the Board of Education, Ms. Aziz, Ms. Morelli, and Ms. Patel were elected for three-year terms.”

The Board elected Amy Root as president and Brendan Galligan as vice president. Root has served as board vice president for two years and has been a member of the board since July 2016. Galligan has served on the board for 8 years.

Root and Galligan expressed appreciation as fellow Board members and administrators congratulated them and the newly sworn-in members.

“I would like to welcome the new board members and returning board members and thank you for your service,” said Superintendent Dr. Margaret Dolan. 

Source: Westfield Public Schools